Should be further on than this!

Not sure what is wrong with me but finding it really hard to get out in the cold and do some work. Did manage to make a start on the two beds at the top of the garden although they still need fed with about twenty wheelbarrow loads of manure. Hoping for an improvement from the asparagus bed in 2017 it was a very meagre crop this year. I’ve yet to do anything in the veggie plot bar plant out cabbage, collards, chard and kale plus sow more lettuce. I think I’m perhaps being overly optimistic with regards to the outdoor sown lettuce but we’ll see. It’s funny as soon as I don’t have any lettuce to pick I start craving it!

cleared-beds   veggieplot

Both polytunnels are at least complete for the winter. They both contain transplanted strawberries along their back walls. In the first one there’s some PakChoi progressing very slowly plus lettuce and oriental greens from seed that are just starting to peek through. In the second one I’ve left a chilli plant to see how long it lasts who knows perhaps it will be a mild winter and it will live to see 2017. I’ve also sown broad beans in the hope of a crop that is not decimated by black fly. I’ve tried on a number of occasions to grow broad bean outside – this will be my last attempt if the blackfly invade the polytunnel.

g1   g2

This is not a pretty sight but I’m sure the worms will love it. I did this last year on a smaller scale but going all out this year. We only put the fire on a couple of weeks ago and already I have a dust bin full of ashes layered with stuff we normally throw onto the compost heap. I reckon by the spring I should have at least 10 bin loads to dig into the veggie plot. The runner beans loved this smelly disgusting concoction.

ashbin

Finally, December in a couple of days and still there are flowers out around the garden…

rocket   bud   cornflower

honesty   campanula   sweetrocket

One thought on “Should be further on than this!

  1. Don’t feel like you need to be further ahead! This is the season of rest, surely? I’ve just been pottering, but some days it’s just not pleasant enough for outside work. I’m also trying some broad beans in the tunnel this year, they’re already peeking through, whereas my outdoor ones (all sown on 1 November) are not showing yet. Have you sown some broad beans outside, too?

    Like

Leave a Reply

