Nonstop Kale….

Getting a bit hampered by all this rain. It’s just too wet to cut the grass so that’s getting away from me….on a more positive note the onions are all planted and I think I’ve rescued my very spindly tomato plants! Thanks to advice I got from the folks at Gardener’s Corner my tomatoes are growing away nicely. I transplanted them up to their necks in the brown pots then made a screen using a ring binder and paperclipping white paper to the inside to reflect the light. It fits the little table perfectly and does the trick you can see the recovery they have made!

2spindly   2notspindly

The rest of the post seems to be about squash and kale! We usually include sweet potato when making a dahl but it’s all change now as we’ve started to use – you guessed it – squash! We’ve had dahl, chicken dahl, and king prawn dahl the last was so scrummy you are only getting a photo of what was left!

1dahl   1Chicken   1kingprawn
We still have lots of squash remaining but as they feel as solid as a rock there should be many more meals to come. This was slow cooked pigs’ cheeks done on the wood burner with squash and kale.

1squashdahl   pigonfire   pigcheeks squash

Alas, three days ago I picked the last of the curly lettuce from the polytunnel. Hopefully, the lettuce I’ve sown outside will be up shortly. You’d think with all the salad I’ve been eating and all the running I’ve been doing the pounds would be falling away. Well not sure about the pounds but I did have to splash out some euros on a new pair of running shoes as the heels on my old ones were wearing away. Monday makes my 50th 5K in 17 weeks!

last salad    new shoes

Kale the vegetable that just keeps on giving! It’s now starting to look like it’s about to flower but even then it’s putting on new growth. This was kale with pasta and black garlic not long after that we had kale and oatmeal risotto again!

3kale   3blackgarlic  3bgpasta

Finally, a weeded veggie plot just ready for sowing if only the rain would stay away for a couple of days. AND a photo of ‘saag bhaji’ except it’s not spinach it’s kale!

veggieplot  kale and curry

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Nonstop Kale….

  1. Nice Indian cuisine! My compliments to the chef. We’re running out of kale here – not good. But I’ve just sown this year’s and will up the number of plants again (somebody gave me six ‘kale’ seedlings last year so I only sowed another four and then the ‘kale’ turned out to be curly moss parsley!). I have to say your garden looks pretty dry to me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

