More seeds – can you ever have too many?

Well, with all this fine weather there is no shortage of eggs from the hens so tonight it’s herb omelettes and onion and tomato salad. Just been out picking some flat leaf parsley and rocket – some of which is in flower – amazing I think for this time of the year.  As you can see I’ve got a bit of an egg glut but they’ll soon get used up.

IMG_3342After saying to myself “no more seeds ” I bought these at Noz (cheapie shop here in France).  At 48 centime a packet how could I resist!  I’ll have to sort out my seeds once my final lot arrive by post and get planning.  That’s if I can resist buying Gold Nugget Squash as recommended by anjafinne and incorporating that into the scheme for 2104.

IMG_3341

Finally, no not a giant Brussels sprout, just the first savoy cabbage. Well, they were doing nothing and all of a sudden they’ve woken up and started to form heads. Mind this looked much bigger before the caterpillar munched leaves were removed. I thought might as well start picking now rather than end up with a glut like the eggs!

IMG_3340

2 thoughts on “More seeds – can you ever have too many?

  1. When it comes to seeds and fresh eggs – no, I don’t think you can have too many! 🙂 That said, I am telling myself NO MORE this week as I dig up great swathes of lawn for yet more veg… Your cabbage looks lovely, why not enjoy them young and small? Anything’s better than letting the beasties get them!

    Like

  2. I know the feeling. I’ve taken a picture of the seed pile and my new island beds, herb garden, veggie plot and other planting areas – including one more to clear. I’ve got to stop digging up the garden as the more you dig up the more work you make. I’ve planted fruit trees in three of the island beds and fruit bushes (blueberries and blackcurrants) in the other two. I’m hoping to mix veggie, herbs, iris, day lillies and other flowers in the island beds but at the moment they all look a bit sad. I have planted around 500 bulbs though around the trees so there should be a bit of a show come spring. I’m sort of aiming for edible, nature friendly and pretty – but not in a formal potager type way.

    Like

Leave a comment